Mississippi’s Thompson supports Pelosi, Republicans support McCarthy as 117th Congressman and elect speakers

All four Mississippi Congressmen were sworn in for new terms on Sunday as the 117th Congress was held.

Shortly after the members were sworn in, the vote to elect a president of the house took place. California Democrat Nancy Pelosi received 216 votes to keep the gavel. Republican leader Kevin McCarthy, also from California, received 209 votes, and 8 others either voted for another member, voted in attendance, or voted not at all. Democrats have a ten-seat majority in the US House of Representatives, and there are currently two vacancies. It is the smallest majority in 20 years.

Congressman Bennie Thompson (MS-02), Mississippi’s only Democratic representative, voted for Pelosi as speaker.

All three Republican State Congressmen – Trent Kelly (MS-01), Michael Guest (MS-03), and Steven Palazzo (MS-04) – voted for their caucus leader, McCarthy.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve the people of Mississippi for a second term in Congress,” Guest said in a press release. “When I was sworn in for my first term, I promised to work hard every day to make sure we create a better future for our children and grandchildren. I plan to keep this promise while serving at the 117th Congress. “

Palazzo shared a similar sentiment in his comments as he sat for a sixth term.

“It is a privilege to serve the South Mississippi families in Congress. I am honored to defend our shared conservative values ​​in Washington, and I will continue to fight to improve the quality of life for all southern Mississippians, “said Palazzo. “I will work to strengthen and protect our military bases, support our veterans, develop our state’s top industries, rebuild our economies by helping businesses in Mississippi, protect the unborn, and defend our God-given freedoms. “

Related Articles